Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission (NIRPC)

NIRPC is a regional council of local governments serving the citizens of Lake, Porter, and LaPorte counties in Northwest Indiana. The Northwest Indiana region is part of the U.S. Census Bureau’s Chicago Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA). NIRPC provides a forum that enables the citizens of Northwest Indiana to address regional issues relating to transportation, the environment and community, and economic development.

The Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission (NIRPC) is a multi-purpose, sub-state, area-wide planning agency. NIRPC was originally established as the Lake-Porter County Regional Transportation and Planning Commission in 1965, pursuant to State-enabling legislation. An amendment to this legislation in 1973 provided the Commission with its current name and allowed for the addition of new member counties. Under this provision, La Porte County joined NIRPC in 1979.

NIRPC operates as a cooperative of local governments within the Tri-County area. It is currently comprised of fifty-three members. In addition to the municipal appointments, the County Councils, Boards of Commissioners, and County Surveyors appoint one member each, as does the Governor.¬†¬† The Commission or the Executive Board meets monthly. NIRPC’s meetings are open to the public and there is a place on every agenda for public comment.